Organika Interview: Dasha Gold from The Trendspotter

dasha1

Today on the Organika Hair blog we’re featuring one of our favorite Melbourne bloggers – Dasha Gold. Making up one half of The Trendspotter along with her husband Colin, Dasha has become a firm favorite at Organika – due both to her sweet, interesting personality and her AMAZING street style editorials. Dasha and Colin’s blog has been featured all over the world, enjoying popular acclaim throughout the Australian media as leading creatives in the blogging sphere. In today’s blog, Dasha answers questions on both being a blogger and ascertaining ‘trends’, paired with images taken from shoots where Organika Hair has styled her look. We present …. Dasha!

1. We’re sure that becoming a blogging phenomenon isn’t something that happens overnight. How did you discover blogging, and how did your blog gain momentum?

I remember the first time I heard about blogging. I was at a modeling casting for a big contract job, and I was asked if I had a blog. I whispered to a friend, what is a “blog”? She could not explain it to me properly because nobody at that time really knew what it was all about. I have a curious mind and I love to discover the new things, so I opened my first blog a day later. I started following other blogs that inspired me and talking to bloggers with the same interests and passions. I did not have a clear direction, until TheTrendSpotter was created. It evolved with the knowledge and experience we gained.

It combines all things that inspire me – the experience I gained through working in the fashion industry as a graphic designer, a model, an artist and curator. I had a vision that TheTrendSpotter will be more than a blog. It is an online fashion magazine, a source of inspiration for everyone who loves art and fashion. Together with my husband Colin Gold, we envisioned a dream and built it. We wanted to bring together the creative industries, and individuals who share the same passions and love expressing them through their work. Today TheTrendSpotter has an incredible team of the talented writers, photographers and presenters who contribute to it’s diverse content and blog’s creative synergy. The sky is not a limit for us and we are ready to learn more, evolve, discover and take the world by storm.

Dasha-Gold-TheTrendSpotter-2

 

2. What is the best advice you have for someone looking to start their own blog? Is there any particular kind of blog genre that is as yet uncapitalised upon or untapped?

I have yet to come across a topic that has not been mentioned in a blog. There are so many types of blogs out there, probably almost as many types as there are hobbies. Social media phenomena was a result of more people sharing their interests and passions online, blogging is just another way of sharing. Choose the form of blogging that suits you, have a vision and start it. You don’t have to know what to do, how exactly you will achieve all the goals, you will learn it all in the process of blogging. The more work you put in, the more you crave to discover and evolve, the more knowledge you will obtain. A blog is a way to share, to inspire and to be inspired, it is a reflection of you, it can also be a business if you want it to be. It will be whatever you want it to be if you have a vision and work hard to make it happen.

Sports-Luxe-Styling-Dasha-Gold-3

 

3. You are known for your eye-catching street style, channeling looks straight from the runway. How do you put an outfit together – do you mix ‘high and low’ fashion? What is your favorite blog post to date?

I am always on a look out for the latest trends and inspirations straight off the runways and streets of the world. When I see something that excites and inspires me, I want to have it. An outfit is a reflection of who I am today, it is a bit like role playing. I can be a strong independent business lady one day or a free spirited hippie the other. I can be elegant and feminine or tough and manly. The looks I create are a reflection of who I am. I love mixing styles, and experimenting with the new looks. To me it is not about the label, it is about how it makes me feel. Blog posts are like capturing the moments, I don’t have a favorite moment as every one of them is special to me, and there are so many more to come.

New_York_Fashion_Week_-Street_Style_September_2013_Spring_-2014

4. Does hair and makeup play a role in interpreting a trend? Where do you look for inspiration when it comes to beauty?

I look to the runways, street style, fashion editorials, art, other blogs and so much more for beauty inspiration. Hair and makeup is just as important as the outfit when interpreting the trend.

dasha1

5. You’ve been to Organika Hair several times to finish your look. What can you say about your experience at Organika that sets it apart from other salons?

Organika Hair is more than just a hair salon. It is all about the experience. I always leave it with the biggest smile on my face and I am pretty sure if i could, I would live there. The salon has a beautiful energy that is so easy to fall in love with, the stuff, the interior, the choice of beverage are making me want to come back for more. And on top of it all, my hair is looking beautiful, days and weeks after my appointment. Lovely Lisa gave me some great hair styling tips to the fabulous looking hair every day. Keep up the amazing work ladies, I love you! x

Leave a Reply

